The Village of Seneca is a non-home rule municipality which operates under a Commission form of government.  The Village Council is comprised of the Mayor and four Commissioners, who are elected for four-year terms.  The Village Clerk and Village Treasurer are all appointed by the Mayor with the consent of the Village Council.

The Village Council meets formally on the first and third Tuesday of each month at 6:00 p.m.