The Village of Seneca operates under a commission form of government.  The Village Council is comprised of the Mayor and four Commissioners who are elected to four-year terms. The Village Clerk and Village Treasurer are both appointed with the consent of the Village Council.

The Village Council meets formally on the 1st and 3rd Monday of each month at 5:30 pm.  The Mayor and each Commissioner is responsible for administering the functions of the following departments:   Public Affairs, Accounts and Finance, Public Health & Safety, Streets and Public Improvements, and Water, Sewer and Public Property.

There are currently approximately 8 full-time employees and 12 part-time workers (not including seasonal help).  The population of the Village is 2,353 (as of 2020 census).

IMRF:  The Village provides retirement and/or disability benefits, through the Illinois Municipal Retirement Fund (IMRF).  In compliance with 40 ILCS 5/7-135.5, information on the Village's participation, contributions and rates is available here.